What Time And TV Channel Are The Oscars 2013 Starting? Don't Miss Red Carpet Arrivals Or The Academy Awards! [VIDEO]

By iDesign Times Staff Reporter February 23, 2013 8:02 PM EST
  • 3 pictures

What Time And TV Channel Are The 2013 Oscars? Check out all the details below...

If you're trying to figure out what time you need to be home with the wine, beer and chips, plan backward. Oscar Red Carpet Arrivals will begin at at 4 p.m. PST (7 p.m. EST). And the 85th Academy Awards will start at 5:30 p.m. PST (8:30 p.m. EST) on ABC.

The 2013 Oscars ceremony will take place at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. The pre-show broadcast will be hosted by Lara Spencer, Jess Cagle, Kristin Chenoweth and Kelly Rowland.

Like Us on Facebook :

Watch the Oscar nominations below:

The Oscar man of the hour? "Family Guy" and "Ted" star Seth MacFarlane, who will host the Academy Awards, that are televised live in more than 225 countries.

But, let's be honest, what time are the big stars actually going to arrive? Huge stars like Anne Hathaway, Ben Affleck and his wife, Jen Garner, often arrive later than B-list stars because they know they'll get the interviews and don't want to make unnecessary Oscar small talk. Plus, nominees get nervous. So they don't always want to socialize before the big ceremony.

Then what time do the big stars really hit the red carpet? It's safe to say that by 7:30 p.m. EST most A-listers will be making their way toward the Dolby Theatre.

Ben Affleck's drama "Argo" is widely viewed as the front-runner for the best picture Oscar. But the Academy snubbed Affleck in the directing category, which left both Affleck and his cast perplexed.

"Argo" will go up against strong competition at this year's Oscars, including: "Lincoln," "Silver Linings Playbook," "Beasts of the Southern Wild," "Django Unchained," "Les Miserables," "Life of Pi," "Amour" and "Zero Dark Thirty." Check out the complete list of nominees here.

James Bond buffs will delight in this year's Oscars. Though the Academy has rarely acknowledged the kitschy franchise, this year it will pay homage to Bond's 50th anniversary. The cast of "Chicago" will also hit the Oscar 2013 stage to honor the musicals of the evening.

Wondering what time Jimmy Kimmel will arrive? The eighth installment of "Jimmy Kimmel Live: After the Oscars" will air at 10 p.m. PST (12:05 a.m. EST) on ABC featuring "Django Unchained" star Jamie Foxx and "Side Effects" actor Channing Tatum.

More interested in the other channels? Here is an hour-by-hour schedule for other red-carpet and award festivities:

E! will start "Countdown to the Red Carpet" at 1:30 p.m. ET (10:30 a.m. PT). For better or worse, "The Hangover" monkey and Jennifer Lawrence's personal archery trainer will be featured.

MTV's Oscar red-carpet coverage with Josh Horowitz and VH1's Janell Snowden will begin at 5:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. PT) on MTV.com. They will interview stars asking them questions that were tweeted at them. If you want to tweet an Oscar 2013 question to MTV, tweet at... @MTVNews, @JoshuaHorowitz, and @JanellSnowden, hashtag #OscarNightLive.

The TV Guide Network's "2013 Academy Awards Red Carpet" with Chris Harrison will begin at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT).

ABC Online will also feature celebrity Oscar 2013 chats, interviewing Oscar nominees, presenters and performers, streaming it all live on Oscar.com.

 

 



  • 3 pictures

© 2013 iDesign Times All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Sponsored From Around the Web

Join the Conversation

Who's Up? Who's Down?